+41 79 729 00 13 info@mda-haiti.ch

Want an experience that will change your life?

Like children?

Want to get to know another culture?

Then working in a children’s home is just the thing!

More than 100 children live at the Maison des Anges children’s home. Many of them go to school every day and have homework and exams – almost like us. In addition to coaching, you’ll be looking after the babies and toddlers and supporting the staff when they need an extra pair of hands. Exceptions and challenges are the order of the day at the home, and we promise you’ll never be bored!

Care

Supporting the nounous (carers) and organizing leisure activities for the children

Coaching

Helping individual children with learning difficulties

All-Rounder

Get to work where you’re needed, using your skills and talents

A placement at the Maison des Anges children’s home is great life experience in many ways. A stay with us is more than just an internship. It will enrich both your life and the lives of our children. It doesn’t matter if you’re going on afterwards to further education or training, or if you’re making the trip as a private individual. You decide how long you want to stay.

At the children’s home you’ll be living in the heart of Port-au-Prince, Haiti’s capital. In our simple volunteer rooms within the home’s grounds, you’ll have your own space that you can make your own while you’re here. In most cases you’ll even have wifi. The best thing is that we have a number of rooms, so you’re welcome to come with a friend. In fact, we encourage it!

If you’ve any questions or would like to sign up as a volunteer with us, mail us at info@mda-haiti.ch or use the online form given below.

Children

hours per week

staff

What You Can Expect

Your help will change the lives of the children in Haiti
New contacts and friendships
An opportunity to broaden your horizons
An insight into another culture

What You Offer

You're at least 20 years of age
You can pay your own travel costs
You speak good school-level French
You can stay for at least four weeks

Get in touch now!

Former volunteers

My first impression of Haiti was that, despite the huge volumes of trash – spread anywhere and everywhere – Haitians seem so incredibly joyful. They have such fantastic hairstyles and great clothes! Weeks earlier I’d quit my job, found a suitable foreign health insurer, organized a new credit card, and thought about what I really needed in a country like Haiti, and what I could do without. In the end, I came over with more toys than clothes! The children were bright, full of happy energy, and willing to get into all sorts of goofy stuff. My time in Haiti taught me a lot that made me grow and work on myself. It’s lovely that the children have a place that they can grow up in security and get an education, while still being able to be a child.

Lautana Jean-Michel

My trip to Haiti made a big impression. At first I had to get used to a completely different world. I wasn’t familiar with the Haitian mentality. While we try to squeeze as much as possible into the day, they take their time. I struggled with that initially, but ultimately came to admire their attitude. I spent the evenings with Gladys and her family, learning a little more about the country, the culture and its history every day. When I flew to Haiti I thought I’d be helping the children at Maison des Anges, but in the end the gifts were from them to me – their smiles, their love of life and their imaginations captivated me. It’s impossible to go to Maison des Anges without taking lasting impressions home with you.

Cécile Piller

Any questions?

Schulstrasse 16, CH-5645 Aettenschwil

+41 79 729 00 13

info@mda-haiti.ch

Du willst eine Erfahrung machen, die dein Leben prägt?

Du hast gerne Kinder?

Du möchtest eine andere Kultur kennenlernen?

Dann ist dein Einsatz im Kinderheim genau das Richtige!

Im Kinderheim Maison des Anges leben über 100 Kinder. Viele besuchen täglich die Schule und haben Hausaufgaben und Prüfungen – fast wie bei uns. Neben Nachhilfe beschäftigen dich auch die Betreuung der kleinen Kindern und die Unterstützung des Personals, wenn gerade etwas ansteht. Im Kinderheim sind Ausnahmen und Herausforderungen an der Tagesordnung. Es gibt immer etwas zu tun!

Betreuung

Unterstützung der Nounous (Kindesmütter) und Freizeitgestaltung der Kinder

Nachhilfe

Einzelnen Kinder mit Lernschwierigkeiten helfen

Allrounder

Anpacken, wo es gefragt ist und dich mit deinen Gaben und Fähigkeiten einbringen

Ein Stage im Kinderheim Maison des Anges ist in vielerlei Hinsicht eine tolle Lebenserfahrung. Ein Aufenthalt ist nicht nur einfach ein Praktikum – er bereichert auch dein Leben und das vieler Kinder vor Ort. Dabei spielt es keine Rolle, ob du eine weiterführende Schule anstrebst oder die Reise für dich als Privatperson auf dich nimmst. Die Dauer deines Einsatzes kannst du selbst wählen.

Im Kinderheim lebst du am Puls von Port-au-Prince, der Hauptstadt von Haiti. In unseren einfachen Volunteer-Zimmern direkt auf dem Grundstück des Kinderheims hast du dein eigenes Reich, in dem du dich für die Dauer deines Aufenthaltes einrichten kannst – meistens sogar mit Wlan. Und das Beste: Es hat mehrere Zimmer! Ein Aufenthalt zu zweit ist also durchaus machbar und wird sogar ausdrücklich empfohlen.

Hast du eine Frage an uns oder möchtest du dich als Volunteer bei uns melden? Dann schreib uns eine E-Mail an info@mda-haiti.ch oder verwende das untenstehende Online-Formular!

Kinder

Stunden pro Woche

Mitarbeiter

Das erwartet dich

Deine Hilfe verändert das Leben der Kinder vor Ort
Neue Beziehungen & Freundschaften
Erweiterung deines Horizontes
Einblick in eine andere Kultur

Deine Voraussetzungen

Du bist mindestens 20 Jahre alt
Du trägst die Reisekosten selbst
Du sprichst gutes Schulfranzösisch
Dein Aufenthalt beträgt 4 Wochen oder länger

Kontaktiere uns jetzt!

Ehemalige Volunteers

Mein erster Eindruck von Haiti: Trotz enormen Massen an Müll, der überall und wahllos verteilt ist, strahlen die Haitianer eine wahnsinnige Freude aus. Sie haben so unglaublich schöne Frisuren und tolle Kleidung! Wochen zuvor kündigte ich meine Stelle, suchte eine passende Auslandskrankenkasse, besorgte mir eine neue Kreditkarte und überlegte, was ich in solch einem Land brauche und auf was ich verzichten konnte. Schliesslich reiste ich mit mehr Spielsachen als Kleidern nach Haiti. Die Kinder waren aufgeweckt, lebensfroh und für jeden Spass oder Blödsinn zu haben. Ich konnte aus der Zeit in Haiti einiges mitnehmen, an mir wachsen und arbeiten. Es ist schön, dass die Kinder einen Ort haben, an denen sie geschützt mit einer Schulbildung aufwachsen können und gleichzeitig noch etwas Kind sein können.

Lautana Jean-Michel

Meine Reise nach Haiti war eine eindrückliche Erfahrung. Am Anfang musste ich mich an eine völlig andere Welt gewöhnen. Die Haitianer haben eine Mentalität, die mir fremd war. Während wir versuchen, das Maximum in einen Tag zu pressen, nehmen sich die Leute in Haiti Zeit. Am Anfang hatte ich Mühe damit, aber schlussendlich bewundere ich ihre Einstellung. Die Abende verbrachte ich mit Gladys und ihrer Familie. Jeden Abend lernte ich etwas mehr über das Land, die Kultur und ihre Geschichte. Als ich nach Haiti flog, dachte ich, ich unterstütze die Kinder im Maison des Anges. Doch schlussendlich waren sie es, die mich beschenkten: Ihr Lächeln, ihre Lebensfreude und Fantasie faszinierten mich. Es ist unmöglich, ins Maison des Anges zu gehen, ohne bleibende Erinnerungen nach Hause zu nehmen!

Cécile Piller

Hast du eine Frage?

Schulstrasse 16, CH-5645 Aettenschwil

+41 79 729 00 13

info@mda-haiti.ch